Archive For April, 2006


I hope you’re all having a great Easter Weekend. I’m busy organising things for Nashville tomorrow. The album is sounding great but its a long process to make because me and Andy are engineering and producing. One of the great advantages of having artistic freedom is we can make whatever album we want to and and have whatever mix of songs we like on it. We started off with the quite rocky songs back in january but last night i watched as Mike added congas to an acoustic track and I attempted to learn the ‘appalachian dulcimer’. I hope all the varying styles will gel together when they’re all mixed.

I’m looking forward to spending a couple of weeks in the U.S. I’ve still got a load of lyrics to finish (gulp), I’d better pack a rhyming dictionary…

all the best


More news from the studio

The final track-listing for the (as yet untitled) Farrah album is;

  • Fear Of Flying
  • Dumb Dumb Ditty
  • Awkward Situation
  • The Only Way
  • Things We Shouldn’t Say
  • No Reason Why
  • Colour Of Your Love
  • Wristband Generation
  • Do You Ever Think Of Me
  • Removal Man
  • No One Stays Together
  • School Reunion
  • As Soon As I Get Over You

The album is coming along slowly but steadily as I’m sure some of you tuning into the webcam have witnessed! The band have promised that it will be well worth the wait.

The End Is Nigh

We’re in the final laps making the magnificent 3rd farrah opus. And things are going well. Recorded so far are:

  • Dumb Ditty
  • As Soon As I Get Over You
  • Wristband Generation
  • Fear Of Flying
  • Hopeless Situation
  • Colour Of Your Love
  • Lonely Boy (a cover version of the Andrew Gold classic)
  • Stay Together
  • No Reason Why
  • Easy Way
  • The Things We Shouldn’t Say
  • Do You Ever Think Of Me
  • School Reunion

Of course these are not in order and some of the titles will probably change. And these songs are not all finished yet. Most of them have bass, drums and guitars but we’ve yet to do some keyboards, piano and final vocals. Only 3 or 4 are mixed.

The plan is to get everything recorded in the next week before The Bad Machines go on tour and Jez leaves for Nashiville. And then when we return from the gigs in Spain we’ll get the whole lot mixed and mastered.

And then i’ll finally have time to get a haircut and take a bloody long holiday.

Of course we still need to agree on what the record is going to be called and get the artwork done.

At the moment “beat detective” and “auto tune” are the most likely titles.

We’re looking forward to playing a few of the new songs when we’re in Spain. It’s always good fun to introduce new material into the set.



Radio Silence

Hello! Although things have been quiet on the news page of the Farrah website, things are buzzing away behind the scenes.

Farrah are in the studio working on their as-yet untitled third album. Recording is about 80% done and sounding great! They’re hoping to finish recording before The Bad Machines (with Michelle and Andy) head off on tour and Jez dispears over to Nashville later this month.

The band will then re-convene in Spain for 2 shows with The Bad Machines on the 5th and 6th of May before heading back to the UK to complete recording and mixing the album.

We can’t say for sure when the record will get released but it should, at the very least, be this year in most countries!!

Meanwhile, check out Michelle doing her thing on The Bad Machines European tour:

Keep tuning in on the web cam and don’t forget to say hello!